Program Listings

  • CAD $108.00 – Four Foundations of Mindfulness

Generosity policy applies. You can email [email protected] if you need a reduction in the tuition price.

Date & Time Details: Five live sessions Wednesdays, 10:30 am Atlantic, beginning August 5.

Location: Dorje Denma Ling

Address: 2280 Balmoral Road Tatamagouche, NS B0K 1V0

Contact:
Peggy Eyre
[email protected]
1-902-209-0065

Email us about program

Four Foundations of Mindfulness (Live, Online)

With Christine Heming

August 5 - September 2, 2020

A Five-Week Class on Wednesday Mornings at 10:30am Atlantic – Beginning August 5, 2020

Time Zone Shifts: 9:30 a.m. Eastern / 10:30 a.m. Atlantic / 2:30 p.m. GMT / 3:30 p.m. CET / SAST 

The Four Foundations of Mindfulness – Mindfulness of Body, Life, Effort and Mind – are seminal instructions on the practice of mindfulness meditation. 

Mindfulness practice has deep roots in the Buddhist tradition, and it is recommended for people at every stage of the spiritual path. The practice originally comes from The Satipatthana Sutra, a teaching of the Buddha. We will explore the Four Foundations as presented by the Vidydhara, Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche, from the vast and profound view of Basic Goodness.

This program is appropriate for new and experienced meditators alike. All are welcome. 

Course Format

Over a series of five sessions, we will focus on each of the four foundations as the weekly practice. Our emphasis will be on the meditator’s journey and experience with these four aspects of mindfulness.

Each 1.5 hour session will include guided practice and instructions, and opportunities for questions, discussion and sharing.  

Who Should Attend

If you are interested in mindfulness meditation or the foundational teachings of the Buddha, please join the class. No experience in meditation necessary.

Cost

Suggested: $108 CDN
Payment is by credit card or e-transfer.

Generosity policy applies. If you are experiencing financial difficulties due to loss of income, please email [email protected] and indicate what you are able to offer for the five-week program. We understand, and would like everyone who is inspired to participate to be able to do so.

If you are able to offer more, your support will be much appreciated.

Leader

Christine Heming
Christine Heming has been a meditation instructor and teacher in the Shambhala Buddhist community for over 40 years. She is a board member of the Centre for Local Prosperity, a nonprofit society promoting new economic models that invite a balance between economic development and the preservation and restoration of natural systems. She holds the view that it is possible for human society to flourish within the ecological limits of the earth. This cultural shift means reconnecting with our longing for peace, social justice, and a caring community. She lives with her husband, Gregory Heming and their dog Bella on a…
Learn more about Christine Heming