Program Listings

Prices
  • CAD $108.00 – I CAN OFFER THE REQUESTED AMOUNT
  • CAD $54.00 to CAD $108.00 – I CAN OFFER A DISCOUNTED AMOUNT (Select a price between $54 & $108)

Date & Time Details: Five Saturdays at 1:00 p.m. Atlantic January 8, 2022 - February 5, 2022

Location: Online

Contact:
Dan Schreibman
[email protected]
902-657-9085 ext 20

Email us about program

(Online) Heart of Recovery

With Scott Perkins

January 8 - February 5, 2022

A Five-Week Course on Saturdays at 1:00 pm Atlantic Time, Starting January 8, 2022

1:00 pm Atlantic / 12:00 pm Eastern / 11:00 am Central / 10:00 am Mountain / 9:00 am Pacific

Grounded in meditation, the Buddhist teachings provide a practical means to support our recovery from addictions and compulsive behaviours. These teachings, along with the practice of mindfulness meditation, can strengthen our ability to notice and let go of thoughts and impulses that lead us to suffering, discontent, and harmful actions.

During this five-week Heart of Recovery class we will explore how meditation and mindfulness practices:

  • Help us to find relief from the suffering of addictions and compulsive behaviours of all kinds.
  • Support us in connecting to our inherent goodness, warmth, and intelligence as human beings, and how doing so can support and enrich our recovery.
  • Show us the wisdom and sanity that underlies all aspects of our existence, and how that wisdom gets twisted by fear and ego, and then manifests as neurosis, character defects, habitual patterns and addictive behaviours.
  • Train us to notice when we are lost in a story, hooked by emotions, or caught by addictive energies and behaviours.
  • Strengthen our ability “let go” when we do get hooked or triggered.

Instead of acting out or suppressing our emotions, we can learn to embody our experiences and open ourselves to the inherent wisdom that exists below the surface of emotional energy.

Who Should Attend 

This course is open to both new and experienced meditation practitioners. Those who are personally working with recovery, as well as to those whose lives have been impacted by addiction (as parents, children, spouses, etc.) will also benefit.

Cost

Suggested Tuition: CA$108

Generosity Policy applies. You will the have the option of applying a discount on the Registration Page should you need financial assistance.

Schedule

Saturday January 8, 2022
Time: 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 pm Atlantic | 12:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Eastern

Saturdays January 15, 22, 29, February 5, 2022
Time: 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 pm Atlantic | 12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Eastern

Time Zone Converter

Leader

Scott Perkins
Scott Perkins is a certified Recovery Coach, Recovery Coach Trainer, and Meditation Teacher. He began practicing Buddhism in 1988 and completed a Master’s degree in Buddhist Studies from Naropa University in 1992.  Scott has been teaching on Buddhism and Meditation for over 25 years. Scott began his own path of recovery on Christmas Day, 2005 and has been exploring the intersection of recovery and meditation since that time. In his role as a Recovery Coach, Scott helps others craft personal paths/programs that supports their recovery from addictions and strengthens their ability to experience life with sanity, courage, and compassion. In 2006, Scott founded and continues to lead the Washington DC…
Learn more about Scott Perkins